Curly Castro and Zilla Rocca: Str8 Westcoastin’ Mix


So inspired about their jaunt from Philly to the West Coast, Curly Castro and Zilla Rocca put together the Str8 Westcoastin’ Mix, a collection of hip-hop goodness – cover art and all – to whet the appetite for shows at the Hidden House in Phoenix on Friday and Los Angeles on Sunday.

I know, these are all California artists, you say. But cut ’em some slack: These are Phoenix first-timers. Don’t think I’ll let them leave the desert without educating them about Bombshelter DJs, Supermarket, The Shop, Blunt Club, Universatile and more (over some Four Peaks brews, of course).

You can stream the mix below, download it at Mixcloud or you can download it as one MP3, with two bonus tracks: West Indian Rum by Curly Castro (which he’ll debut live on Friday) and It’s Always 5 O’Clock Somewhere by 5 O’Clock Shadowboxers off the Broken Clocks EP.

If nothing else, I implore you to at least check out Mix Tapes by the Nonce. If I’ve told you once

Str8 Westcoastin’ Mix tracklisting:
1. Zilla Rocca’s Hellafied Intro
2. ”Mix Tapes” The Nonce
3. ”Exploits and Glitches” Nocando
4. ”Critical (Madlib Remix)” Zion I f/ Planet Asia
5. ”Killin’ It” Tha Alkaholiks f/ Xzibit
6. ”Made N*****” 2pac f/ Outlawz
7. ”Ditty” Paperboy
8. ”Doggy Dogg World” Snoop Doggy Dogg f/ The Dogg Pound
9. Curly Castro’s Brooklyn Dodger Lament
10. ”Still Cruisin’” Eazy E f/ The Game
11. ”Place of Birth” Planet Asia
12. ”Mr. Dobalina” Del Thee Funkee Homosapien
13. ”Tell Me When To Go” E-40 f/ Keak Da Sneak
14. ”She Swallowed It” N.W.A.
15. ”Soul On Ice (Diamond D Remix)” Ras Kass
16. ”Otha Fish” Pharcyde

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *