Incoming: Rob Dickinson, Dec. 18


It’s been a little more than four years since former Catherine Wheel frontman Rob Dickinson released his solo debut, Fresh Wine for the Horses, but he’s starting to stir – perhaps a sign that some new material could be on the way.

This year, he released a cover of the Smiths’ Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want on his own Carrera Records label. And now he’s booked for a return visit to the Valley on Dec. 18 at the Rogue after he played here in January 2006 and 2007 (both at the former Anderson’s 5th Estate in Scottsdale). Tickets ($12) for the 21-and-over show at the Rogue can be purchased by e-mailing

I captured a recording of the 2006 show that was purely amateur, but I love revisiting it all the same. The 12-song concert – included as a zip file below – was, naturally, heavy on Catherine Wheel material. He can probably never escape that shadow, but I wonder if, four years later, he’ll start to distance himself more from his old band’s catalog.

ZIP: Rob Dickinson, live at Anderson’s 5th Estate (Scottsdale, AZ), 1/26/06 (84.7 MB)

1. Heal*
2. The Storm
3. Oceans
4. My Name is Love
5. Ma Solituda*
6. Handsome
7. Eat My Dust You Insensitive Fuck*
8. Intelligent People
9. Crank*
10. Towering and Flowering
11. Black Metallic*
12. Future Boy*

* – Catherine Wheel songs.

[Photo credit:]

3 thoughts on “Incoming: Rob Dickinson, Dec. 18”

  1. Pingback: Percocet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *